The Abel Prize Laureate 2016

The Abel Prize Laureate 2016

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2016 to

Sir Andrew J. Wiles

"for his stunning proof of Fermat’s Last Theorem by way of the modularity conjecture for semistable elliptic curves, opening a new era in number theory."

Citation by the Abel Committee
Press Release
Popular Version by Alexander Bellos
The Abel Prize Laureate 2016 Brochure
Short film about Andrew Wiles
The Abel Prize public talk

Andrew Wiles in conversation with Nadia Hasnaou at Det Norske Teatret

Sir Andrew Wilse
The Abel interview

Andrew Wiles is interviewed by the two mathematicians Martin Raussen og Christian Skau.

The Abel Prize Lectures

The Abel Lectures 2016 were held at Georg Sverdrups Hus, University of Oslo Wednesday May 25, 2016

You may watch video of three of the lectures:

  1. Abel Laureate Sir Andrew Wiles, University of Oxford
    Fermat's Last theorem: abelian and non-abelian approaches
  2. Professor Henri Darmon, McGill University
    Andrew Wiles' marvelous proof
  3. Professor Manjul Bhargava, Princeton University
    What is the Birch--Swinnerton-Dyer Conjecture, and what is known about it?
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS