The Abel Prize Laureates 2015

The Abel Prize Laureates 2015

The Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2015 to the American mathematicians

John F. Nash, Jr. and Louis Nirenberg

“for striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis.”

Citation by the Abel Committee
Press Release
Popular Version by Alexander Bellos
The Abel Prize Laureates 2015 Brochure
Short films about John Nash and Louis Nirenberg
The 2015 Abel Prize lectures
The Abel interviews

Video: The Abel interviews

Martin Raussen and Christian Skau interviews Louis Nirenberg and John Nash

The Award Ceremony

Video: The Award Ceremony

Foto: Berit Roald/NTB scanpix

John F. Nash Jr. and Louis Nirenberg received the 2015 Abel Prize from His Majesty King Harald V at the award ceremony in Oslo on 19 May.

Vivienne Parry interviews the Laureates

Video: Interview at Det Norske Teatret

Vivienne Parry interviewed the laureates at a reception at Det Norske Teatret.

Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS