The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters calls for nominations of candidates for the Abel Prize 2021

Process of nomination and selection
The Abel Prize recognizes outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis and scientific computing, statistics and applications of mathematics in the sciences.

The Abel Prize may be awarded to one person, or shared for closely related fundamental contributions. The first instalment of the Abel Prize was in 2003.

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters is responsible for the selection of the Abel Laureate(s). The Academy appoints a working body, the Academy’s Abel Committee, chaired by an Academy member and consisting of four members elected amongst names put forward by the International Mathematical Union and the European Mathematical Society.

The Abel Committee screens the nominations and presents a proposal to the Academy.

The Abel Committee receives all nominations and may itself nominate candidates for the Abel Prize.

How is the call for nominations made?
Nominations are accepted each year by completing the online nomination form by September 15. No one can nominate himself or herself. Otherwise the right to nominate is open to all, your do not need to be a member of any institution to nominate.
The name of the Abel Laureate will be announced in March 2021. The award ceremony will take place in Oslo in May 2021.

Your nomination should be accompanied by a description of the work and impact of the nominee/nominees, together with names of distinguished specialists in the field of the nominee/nominees who can be contacted for an independent opinion. When nominating it is a requirement to take into account that the nominee has adhered to general guidelines for research ethics.

The Abel Prize may be awarded to one single person, or shared for closely related fundamental contributions. The first instalment of the Abel Prize was in 2003. For laureates up until 2020, please consult

The Abel Prize amounts to NOK 7,5 million.

Your letter of nomination should be sent no later than September 15, 2020.

For further information and the nomination form, please consult

The names of the nominees and other information about the nominations and selection process cannot be revealed until 50 years later.

The Honouring of the 2020 Abel Prize Laureates

All events in connection to the Abel Prize Week in May are cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. The 2020 Abel Prize Laureates Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis will be honoured, together with the Abel Prize Laureate(s) of 2021 during next year’s Abel Prize Ceremony, May 25 2021.

(23.03.2020) More

Furstenberg and Margulis to share the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize for 2020 goes to Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel​ and Gregory Margulis, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, for “pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

(13.03.2020) More

President of the Academy announces Abel Prize winner

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Hans Petter Graver will announce the winner of the 2020 on March 18. The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the Abel Committee's recommendation.

The event will be in an all-digital format and streamed live from this location

(02.03.2020) More

Louis Nirenberg, Abel Prize laureate, dies at 94

Nirenberg was the Abel Prize recipient together with John F. Nash Jr. in 2015 and received the prize "for striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis."

(27.01.2020) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS