Louis Nirenberg, Abel Prize laureate, dies at 94

Nirenberg was the Abel Prize recipient together with John F. Nash Jr. in 2015 and received the prize "for striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis."

Louis Nirenberg. Photo: © Peter Badge/Typos1 Louis Nirenberg. Photo: © Peter Badge/Typos1

Louis Nirenberg has had one of the longest, most feted– and most sociable – careers in mathematics. In more than half a century of research, he has transformed the field of partial differential equations, while his generosity,  and modest charm have made him an inspirational figure to his many collaborators, students and colleagues.

Louis Nirenberg was born in Hamilton, Canada, in 1925 and grew up in Montreal, where his father was a Hebrew teacher. His first interest in mathematics came from his Hebrew tutor, who introduced him to mathematical puzzles.

- His legacy in mathematics will last forever. His passing is a great loss, and we extend our deepest condolences to his family and friends. Louis Nirenberg is considered one of the most outstanding mathematicians of the 20th century, says president of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Hans Petter Graver.

Nirenberg has gathered a significant number of prestigious accolades. He won the American Mathematical Society’s Bôcher Memorial Prize in 1959. In 1969, he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences. He won the inaugural Crafoord Prize in 1982. He received the Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement from the American Mathematical Society in 1994, and he received the National Medal of Science in 1995. In 2010, he was awarded the first Chern Medal for lifetime achievement by the International Mathematical Union and the Chern Medal Foundation. He was a member of the American Mathematical Society.

John Nash Jr. og Louis Nirenberg receives The Abel Prize for 2015 by His Majesty King Harald at the University Aula. photo: ScanpixJohn Nash Jr. og Louis Nirenberg receives The Abel Prize for 2015 by His Majesty King Harald at the University Aula. photo: Scanpix

Announcement of the next Abel Prize laureate

The Abel Prize laureate for 2021 will be announced Wednesday March 17th at 12:00 (UTC/GMT+1).

(22.02.2021) More

Isadore M. Singer, Abelprize laureate, dies at 96

Isadore M. Singer was the recipient together with Sir Michael Atiyah of the Abel Prize in 2004. They received the prize for their discovery and proof of the index theorem, one of the most significant discoveries in 20th century mathematics.

(12.02.2021) More

The Honouring of the 2020 Abel Prize Laureates

All events in connection to the Abel Prize Week in May are cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. The 2020 Abel Prize Laureates Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis will be honoured, together with the Abel Prize Laureate(s) of 2021 during next year’s Abel Prize Ceremony, May 25 2021.

(23.03.2020) More

Furstenberg and Margulis to share the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize for 2020 goes to Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel​ and Gregory Margulis, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, for “pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

(13.03.2020) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: abelprisen@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: abelprisen@dnva.no
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS