The Abel Prize is increased by 1.5 million NOK

The board of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to increase the prize amount for the Abel Prize from 6 to 7.5 million NOK.

The head of the Abel Board, John Grue, is pleased with the increase and believes this will strengthen the status of the Abel Prize:

- The Abel Prize has in a short time been internationally recognized as one of the most prestigious science awards in mathematics. This is due to a number of reasons, including a high cash award. The prize amount has not been adjusted since the Abel Prize was established in 2002. This measure will help strengthen the position and reputation of the Abel Prize internationally, says Grue.

The prize amount has been increased by, among other things, redistributing resources between administrative work and the prize amount.

Karen Uhlenbeck received the 2019 Abel Prize from King Harald V. Photo: Trygve Inderlid/NTB scanpix. Karen Uhlenbeck received the 2019 Abel Prize from King Harald V. Photo: Trygve Inderlid/NTB scanpix.












Facts about the Abel Prize:
• The Abel Prize recognizes cutting-edge scientific achievements in mathematics. It is awarded annually by His Majesty King Harald V, and is managed by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters on behalf of the Ministry of Education and Research.
• The prize amount is now 7.5 million NOK. The award winner is selected on the basis of a recommendation from the Abel Committee, composed by five internationally renowned mathematicians.
• The Abel Prize was established in 2002 on the 200th anniversary of Nils Henrik Abel's birthday, and it has been awarded to 20 award winners.
• Niels Henrik Abel (1802-1829) was a Norwegian mathematician. In his short life, he made important contributions that are effective in today's mathematics.
• Press contact: Daniel Schmidt, DNVA, (+47) 988 83 888,  For more info, see

Announcement of the next Abel Prize laureate

The Abel Prize laureate for 2021 will be announced Wednesday March 17th at 12:00 (UTC/GMT+1).

(22.02.2021) More

Isadore M. Singer, Abelprize laureate, dies at 96

Isadore M. Singer was the recipient together with Sir Michael Atiyah of the Abel Prize in 2004. They received the prize for their discovery and proof of the index theorem, one of the most significant discoveries in 20th century mathematics.

(12.02.2021) More

The Honouring of the 2020 Abel Prize Laureates

All events in connection to the Abel Prize Week in May are cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. The 2020 Abel Prize Laureates Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis will be honoured, together with the Abel Prize Laureate(s) of 2021 during next year’s Abel Prize Ceremony, May 25 2021.

(23.03.2020) More

Furstenberg and Margulis to share the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize for 2020 goes to Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel​ and Gregory Margulis, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, for “pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

(13.03.2020) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS