Abel in Oxford" with lecture by Sir Andrew Wiles

It has become a tradition that the Abel Committee after its final meeting hosts an Abel seminar. This year the committee meeting at London Mathematical Society was followed by "Abel in Oxford" with Abel Laureate Andrew Wiles as the main speaker. Martin Bridson, head of the Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford and Camilla Serck-Hanssen, Vice President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters gave introductory talks.

Ben Green (left) organized the Abel lectures at the University of Oxford. Lectures by Irene Fonseca, John Rognes and Sir Andrew Wiles.
Ben Green (left) organized the Abel lectures at the University of Oxford. Lectures by Irene Fonseca, John Rognes and Sir Andrew Wiles.

The main lecture hall at Oxford's Mathematical Institute in the Andrew Wiles Building was nearly full of students and mathematicians from Oxford and beyond when Andrew Wiles entered the stage to give his lecture "Points on elliptic curves, problems and progress".

Wiles received the Abel Prize in 2016 for his stunning proof of Fermat's Last Theorem.

As in previous years members of the Abel Committee also gave lectures. Irene Fonseca, Department of Mathematical Sciences, Mellon College of Science, USA titled her lecture "Mathematical Analysis of Novel Advanced Materials". John Rognes from the University of Oslo and chair of the Abel committee gave a lecture on "Symmetries of Manifolds". Ben Green, Professor at Oxford University and member of the Abel committee, organized the event.  

After the Abel lectures in Oxford the Royal Norwegian Embassy in London hosted a reception with invited guests from academia, representatives from scientific organizations and media.  

Started in 2011

Since 2011 there have been Abel lectures in connection with the committee's last meeting before the announcement. The initiative was taken by former committee member Hendrik W. Lenstra. «Abel in Holland» at the University of Leiden was the first in this series of Abel lectures that now has become an annual event.

Abel lectures have been held for instance in Mumbai in India, in St. Petersburg, Zürich, Paris and Barcelona.


The Honouring of the 2020 Abel Prize Laureates

All events in connection to the Abel Prize Week in May are cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. The 2020 Abel Prize Laureates Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis will be honoured, together with the Abel Prize Laureate(s) of 2021 during next year’s Abel Prize Ceremony, May 25 2021.

(23.03.2020) More

Furstenberg and Margulis to share the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize for 2020 goes to Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel​ and Gregory Margulis, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, for “pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

(13.03.2020) More

President of the Academy announces Abel Prize winner

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Hans Petter Graver will announce the winner of the 2020 on March 18. The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the Abel Committee's recommendation.

The event will be in an all-digital format and streamed live from this location

(02.03.2020) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: abelprisen@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: abelprisen@dnva.no
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS