Yves Meyer received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald

H.M. King Harald presented the Abel Prize to Yves Meyer of the École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, France at an award ceremony in Oslo on 23 May. He receives the prize for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets, says John Rognes, chair of the Abel committee. Among the prominent guests attending the award  ceremony was the French ambassador to Norway, Jean-François Dobelle and the Norwegian Minister of Education and Research, Torbjřrn Rře Isaksen.

Yves Meyer received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald. Photo: Thomas BrunYves Meyer received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald. Photo: Thomas Brun/NTB

Yves Meyer was the visionary leader in the modern development of wavelet theory, at the intersection of mathematics, information technology and computational science. Wavelet analysis has been applied in a wide variety of arenas as diverse as applied and computational harmonic analysis, data compression, noise reduction, medical imaging, archiving, digital cinema, deconvolution of the Hubble space telescope images, and the recent LIGO detection of gravitational waves created by the collision of two black holes.

As a prelude to the award ceremony the audience was invited on a journey into the history of the Abel Prize presented in pictures and words. The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters gave the opening speech. Then the chair of the Abel Committee John Rognes gave the reasons for the awarding of the prize.

Yves Meyer giving his acceptance speech in the University Aula in Oslo. Yves Meyer giving his acceptance speech in the University Aula in Oslo. Photo: Thomas Brun/NTB

Film about the laureate 

The Berlin-based filmmaker and mathematician Ekaterina Eremenko visited Yves Meyer a the École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay where he has had a lifelong attachment.  Meyer says in the film that he is very pleased that his mathematical theory of wavelets could be used in the detection of gravitational waves. The film that was shown as part of the award ceremony also includes a visit the French Academy, L'Académie des sciences, where Meyer is a member.

Watch the movie here

Before the award ceremony the Abel Laureate was received in audience at the Royal Palace.

The Abel Banquet at Akershus Castle, hosted by Torbjřrn Rře Isaksen, Minister of Education and Research, ended the program for the day.

The Abel lectures 2017

Yves Meyer gave his prize lecture at the University of Oslo on 24 May, followed by Abel lectures by Stéphane Mallat, Ingrid Daubechies and Emmanuel Jean Candčs. A great many mathematicians from many countries attended the Abel lectures, including the President of the International Mathematical Union (IMU) Shigefumi Mori and Pavel Exner, President of the European Mathematical Society (EMS).

Meyer has inspired a generation of mathematicians who has gone on to make important contributions in their own right. One of these, Meyer's former student Stéphane Mallat, calls him a "visionary" whose work can't be labeled either pure or applied mathematics, nor computer science either, but simply "amazing".

Registration for the online Abel Prize celebrations

The registration for the Abel week 25th and 26th of May is now open. All the events will be held online: The Award Ceremony, the Abel reception, and the Abel lectures. The events will honour both the 2020-winners, Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis, and the 2021-winners, Avi Wigderson and László́ Lovász.

(26.04.2021) More

Lovász and Wigderson to share the Abel Prize

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2021 to László Lovász of Alfréd Rényi Institute of Mathematics (ELKH, MTA Institute of Excellence) and Eötvös Loránd University in Budapest, Hungary, and Avi Wigderson of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA,

“for their foundational contributions to theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics, and their leading role in shaping them into central fields of modern mathematics”

(15.03.2021) More

Announcement of the next Abel Prize laureate

The Abel Prize laureate for 2021 will be announced Wednesday March 17th at 12:00 (UTC/GMT+1).

(22.02.2021) More

Isadore M. Singer, Abelprize laureate, dies at 96

Isadore M. Singer was the recipient together with Sir Michael Atiyah of the Abel Prize in 2004. They received the prize for their discovery and proof of the index theorem, one of the most significant discoveries in 20th century mathematics.

(12.02.2021) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: abelprisen@dnva.no
Nettredaktřr: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk lřsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: abelprisen@dnva.no
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS