Abel Prize announcement

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Kirsti Strřm Bull, will announce the winner of the Abel Prize 2013 on 20 March at 12 noon in Oslo (GMT +1). The announcement will be transmitted live from the Academy. The webcast can be watched at the Abel Prize website http://www.abelprize.no/

Ragni Piene and Timothy Gowers. Photo: Eirik Furu BaardsenRagni Piene and Timothy Gowers. Photo: Eirik Furu Baardsen

After the official announcement, the chair of the Abel committee, Professor Ragni Piene, give the reasons for the awarding of the prize. This will be followed by a presentation of the prize winner's work by Professor Timothy Gowers, University of Cambridge.

Then Timothy Gowers will do a brief telephone interview with the prize winner to get his/hers first reactions. 

The Abel Prize which carries a cash award of 6 million NOK (about 800.000 Euro or 1 million USD), will be presented to the prize winner by H.M. King Harald at an award ceremony in Oslo on 21 May.


Lovász and Wigderson to share the Abel Prize

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2021 to László Lovász of Alfréd Rényi Institute of Mathematics (ELKH, MTA Institute of Excellence) and Eötvös Loránd University in Budapest, Hungary, and Avi Wigderson of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA,

“for their foundational contributions to theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics, and their leading role in shaping them into central fields of modern mathematics”

(15.03.2021) More

The Honouring of the Abel Prize Laureates

Due to the uncertain development of the Covid-19 pandemic in Norway, all physical events are canceled. Instead, there will be three online events.

(07.04.2021) More

Announcement of the next Abel Prize laureate

The Abel Prize laureate for 2021 will be announced Wednesday March 17th at 12:00 (UTC/GMT+1).

(22.02.2021) More

Isadore M. Singer, Abelprize laureate, dies at 96

Isadore M. Singer was the recipient together with Sir Michael Atiyah of the Abel Prize in 2004. They received the prize for their discovery and proof of the index theorem, one of the most significant discoveries in 20th century mathematics.

(12.02.2021) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: abelprisen@dnva.no
Nettredaktřr: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk lřsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: abelprisen@dnva.no
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS