Congratulations from AMS President

Eric M. Friedlander, President of the American Mathematical Society (AMS), congratulates Endre Szemerédi with the 2012 Abel Prize. "On behalf of the American Mathematical Society, I heartily congratulate Endre Szemerédi upon his award of the 2012 Abel Prize. Professor Szemerédi has made many deep and important contributions to discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science. His many remarkable results across a wide spectrum of discrete mathematics continue to have a forceful impact on current research in number theory, combinatorics, and ergodic theory."

In 2008, the American Mathematical Society awarded its 2008 Steele Prize for "seminal contribution to research" to Professor Szemerédi, recognizing the influence of " Szemerédi's Theorem" which establishes the existence of arbitrarily long progressions in any set of integers with positive density.


The Honouring of the 2020 Abel Prize Laureates

All events in connection to the Abel Prize Week in May are cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. The 2020 Abel Prize Laureates Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis will be honoured, together with the Abel Prize Laureate(s) of 2021 during next year’s Abel Prize Ceremony, May 25 2021.

(23.03.2020) More

Furstenberg and Margulis to share the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize for 2020 goes to Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel​ and Gregory Margulis, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, for “pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

(13.03.2020) More

President of the Academy announces Abel Prize winner

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Hans Petter Graver will announce the winner of the 2020 on March 18. The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the Abel Committee's recommendation.

The event will be in an all-digital format and streamed live from this location

(02.03.2020) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktřr: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk lřsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS