Academy President to announce the Abel Prize Laureate

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Nils Christian Stenseth, will announce the winner of the 2012 Abel Prize on the 21st of March. The chair of the Abel committee, Ragni Piene, will then state the reasons for the awarding of the prize. This will be followed by a popular science presentation of the prize winners' work by Timothy Gowers, Professor at Trinity College, Cambridge.
The announcement will be transmitted as a live webcast at 12 noon (GMT + 1) from the Academy in Oslo. To view the webcast, go to

Ragni Piene and Timothy Gowers. Photo: Eirik Furu Baardsen

Ragni Piene and Timothy Gowers at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. Photo: Eirik Furu Baardsen

His Majesty King Harald will present the Abel Prize to the Laureate at an award ceremony in the Oslo University Aula on the 22nd of May.

The Abel celebrations will start with the awarding of the Holmboe Prize at Oslo Cathedral School on the 21st of May. The prize that is named after Niels Henrik Abel's teacher was established to honour mathematics teachers. The Abel Laureate is the guest of honour at this event.

In the afternoon there will be a wreath-laying ceremony at the Abel Monument followed by a dinner at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in honour of the Abel Laureate.

On the 22nd of May the Abel Laureate will be received in audience by H.M. King Harald at the Royal Palace prior to the award ceremony. The Abel Banquet at Akershus Castle is hosted by the Minister of Research and Higher Education on behalf of the Norwegian Government.

On the 23rd of May the Abel Laureate will give his prize lecture at the University of Oslo. There will also be two Abel Lectures and a Science Lecture that is aimed at a more general audience.

On the 24th of May the Abel Laureate will travel to Tromsø in the north of Norway to give a talk at the university and to meet schoolchildren at the science centre.

The Abel Prize is awarded for the 10th time in 2012.


The Honouring of the 2020 Abel Prize Laureates

All events in connection to the Abel Prize Week in May are cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. The 2020 Abel Prize Laureates Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis will be honoured, together with the Abel Prize Laureate(s) of 2021 during next year’s Abel Prize Ceremony, May 25 2021.

(23.03.2020) More

Furstenberg and Margulis to share the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize for 2020 goes to Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel​ and Gregory Margulis, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, for “pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

(13.03.2020) More

President of the Academy announces Abel Prize winner

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Hans Petter Graver will announce the winner of the 2020 on March 18. The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the Abel Committee's recommendation.

The event will be in an all-digital format and streamed live from this location

(02.03.2020) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS