Congratulations to Thompson and Tits

- The work of Thompson and Tits is one of the outstanding accomplishments of modern mathematics. The American Mathematical Society extends its warm congratulations to them on their award of the 2008 Abel Prize. - James Glimm, AMS President.
The choice of John Griggs Thompson and Jacques Tits for the Abel Prize 2008 has been very well received. Among the many congratulators is James Glimm, the President of the American Mathematical Society. George Andrews, AMS President-elect says: " I send my heartiest congratulations to two giants of modern mathematics, John Thompson and Jacques Tits. One cannot imagine two more deserving recipients of the Abel Prize. Their contributions have provided the direction for much of recent research in algebra. As President-elect of the American Mathematical Society, I note with special satisfaction that the award to John Thompson highlights the dedication to excellence in U.S. mathematics, in this instance at the University of Florida. This is a great day for mathematics. Congratulations again to Thompson and Tits.


Abel Prize on the AMS web page

Abel Prize on the AMS web page

The Honouring of the 2020 Abel Prize Laureates

All events in connection to the Abel Prize Week in May are cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. The 2020 Abel Prize Laureates Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis will be honoured, together with the Abel Prize Laureate(s) of 2021 during next year’s Abel Prize Ceremony, May 25 2021.

(23.03.2020) More

Furstenberg and Margulis to share the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize for 2020 goes to Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel​ and Gregory Margulis, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, for “pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

(13.03.2020) More

President of the Academy announces Abel Prize winner

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Hans Petter Graver will announce the winner of the 2020 on March 18. The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the Abel Committee's recommendation.

The event will be in an all-digital format and streamed live from this location

(02.03.2020) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS