László Lóvász new IMU president from 2007

László Lóvász, a former member of the Abel Committee, has been elected the next president of the International Mathematical Union (IMU).
He was interviewed in Madrid in connection with the International Congress of Mathematicians in 2006. The Hungarian László Lóvász, born in Budapest in 1948 and winner of the 1999 Wolf Prize for his work on combinatorics, is the new president-elect of the IMU (International Mathematical Union). He will officially take up his new duties on January 1st, 2007. One of the tasks awaiting him is the preparation of the next ICM in India in 2010. - How do you feel about being president of the IMU? - It’s a great honour for me and a great opportunity. An interesting and difficult job awaits me. My main aim is the preparation of the next Congress, and I hope to be able to make it as successful as this present one, which is very well organized. The Spanish Committee has done a fine job. I also hope to be able to count on the help of John Ball and his team, with whom we will begin working as soon as the ICM2006 is over. We have to have the programme drawn up by next spring. - What’s your main objective? - To make the next Congress a success, in participation, in talks and in attendance. - One of the resolutions adopted in Santiago is support for the developing countries. - That’s right, and what makes this a difficult task is that we’re talking about countries where the political situation often makes it hard to arrange financial support, and where it’s difficult to find the right information or the right channels. We need to work closely with the institutions that have experience in this field. I’m talking about organizations like the ICMI (International Commission on Mathematical Instruction) and the European or American mathematical societies. The IMU doesn’t have a budget large enough to build new universities, but we can look for talented people and give them the chance of doing a masters or a doctorate. - You’ve just returned to Hungary after some years abroad: What’s the situation of mathematics in your country? - Like Poland, the ex-Czech Republic or Slovenia, Hungary has a strong tradition in mathematics. In our science, we mathematicians received a lot of support from the state during the years of communism. Returning to my country today, where I always intended to return, I’m very satisfied as a mathematician to speak to young people and scientists and to find that they know about mathematics and know how to talk about them. - Could your return to Hungary persuade young mathematicians to think again about going abroad to work, and help prevent the brain drain? - Yes, in some way I’d like to be able to encourage some scientists to stay in the country.

The Honouring of the 2020 Abel Prize Laureates

All events in connection to the Abel Prize Week in May are cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. The 2020 Abel Prize Laureates Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis will be honoured, together with the Abel Prize Laureate(s) of 2021 during next year’s Abel Prize Ceremony, May 25 2021.

(23.03.2020) More

Furstenberg and Margulis to share the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize for 2020 goes to Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel​ and Gregory Margulis, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, for “pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

(13.03.2020) More

President of the Academy announces Abel Prize winner

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Hans Petter Graver will announce the winner of the 2020 on March 18. The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the Abel Committee's recommendation.

The event will be in an all-digital format and streamed live from this location

(02.03.2020) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: abelprisen@dnva.no
Nettredaktřr: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk lřsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: abelprisen@dnva.no
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS