Abel Lectures at the University of Oslo

- After all the celebration it is good to be in more familiar surroundings again, said Abel Laureate Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan when he opened the Abel Lectures at the University of Oslo.
Professor Varadhan, Courant Insitute, New York gave as title of his Abel Lecture: "A Short History of Large Deviations". The other lectures were: "Stochastic Analysis in Finance" by Professor George Papanicolaou, Stanford University, USA "Large Deviations at Work" by Professor Ofer Zeitouni, University of Minnesota, USA and "Modelling Diffusive Systems" by Professor Terry Lyons, University of Oxford, UK The Abel Lectures have become a yearly tradition that takes place at the University of Oslo the day after the award ceremony. The Abel Lectures are filmed and will be published on the Abel Prize website.

The Honouring of the 2020 Abel Prize Laureates

All events in connection to the Abel Prize Week in May are cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. The 2020 Abel Prize Laureates Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis will be honoured, together with the Abel Prize Laureate(s) of 2021 during next year’s Abel Prize Ceremony, May 25 2021.

(23.03.2020) More

Furstenberg and Margulis to share the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize for 2020 goes to Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel​ and Gregory Margulis, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, for “pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

(13.03.2020) More

President of the Academy announces Abel Prize winner

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Hans Petter Graver will announce the winner of the 2020 on March 18. The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the Abel Committee's recommendation.

The event will be in an all-digital format and streamed live from this location

(02.03.2020) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: abelprisen@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: abelprisen@dnva.no
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS