Carleson and his contributions to mathematics

Marcus du Sautoy, Oxford University, presented the 2006 Abel Laureate Lennart Carleson and his contributions to mathematics at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters 23 March in connection with the prize announcement.

Marcus du Sautoy presented Lennart Carlson's work just after the announcement at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. Photo: Bjørn Sigurdsøn/Scanpix

- The mark of a great mathematician is someone who not only cracks a big open problem that has defeated previous generations of mathematicians, but who then goes on to create tools for future generations. And Lennart Carleson can really be described in those terms, says Marcus du Sautoy.

Marcus du Sautoy's presentation of Lennart Carlesons work is available on the Abel Prize website.

After the presentation Marcus du Sautoy did a telephone interview with Carleson who only hours before the announcement had been told that he was the winner of the 2006 Abel Prize by the Academy's Secretary General. Marcus du Sautoy lives in Stockholm.  



About Marcus du Sautoy

About Marcus du Sautoy

Marcus du Sautoy's presentation

Marcus du Sautoy's presentation

The Honouring of the 2020 Abel Prize Laureates

All events in connection to the Abel Prize Week in May are cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. The 2020 Abel Prize Laureates Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis will be honoured, together with the Abel Prize Laureate(s) of 2021 during next year’s Abel Prize Ceremony, May 25 2021.

(23.03.2020) More

Furstenberg and Margulis to share the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize for 2020 goes to Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel​ and Gregory Margulis, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA, for “pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

(13.03.2020) More

President of the Academy announces Abel Prize winner

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Hans Petter Graver will announce the winner of the 2020 on March 18. The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the Abel Committee's recommendation.

The event will be in an all-digital format and streamed live from this location

(02.03.2020) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS