The Abel Prize Laureate 2019

The Abel Prize Laureate 2019

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2019 to

Karen Keskulla Uhlenbeck

University of Texas at Austin, USA

“for her pioneering achievements in geometric partial differential equations, gauge theory and integrable systems, and for the fundamental impact of her work on analysis, geometry and mathematical physics.”

Citation by the Abel Committee
Press release
Popular Version by Arne B. Sletsjøe
More on the life and work of Karen Uhlenbeck

Celebratio Mathematica: A scientific account of Uhlenbeck's work on Gauge Theory by Clifford Taubes and an interview with Karen Uhlenbeck by Allyn Jackson

Celebratio Mathematica

Notices of the AMS: Professor Simon Donaldson presents a survey of Uhlenbeck’s work on the Calculus of Variations
Notices of the AMS

Press material

High resolution press photos available in the photo archive.

Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS