The Abel Prize Laureate 2006

The Abel Prize Laureate 2006

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2006 to

Lennart Carleson

Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden,

"for his profound and seminal contributions to harmonic analysis and the theory of smooth dynamical systems."

The Award Ceremony
Abelprisutdelingen 2006. Foto: Scanpix

The Swedish mathematician Lennart Carleson received the 2006 Abel Prize from Queen Sonja at an award ceremony in the University Aula in Oslo 23 May. The Norwegian Minister of Education and Research Øystein Djupedal also attended the event.

Read more

The Abel lectures

Abel laureate Lennart Carleson gave his Abel lecture at the University of Oslo, May 24. Additional lectures was given by Lai-Sang Young, Oded Schramm and Sun-Yung Alice Chang.

 Watch the lectures

Tv-interview with Lennart Carleson

Lennart Carleson interviewed by two mathematicians, Martin Raussen and Christian Skau.


 Watch the interview

Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS