Nomination Guidelines and Nomination Form

The nomination deadline is September 15th every year. All nominations received after the deadline will be considered in the nomination process for the subsequent year.


The right to nominate is open to anyone. Nominations are confidential and a nomination should not be made known to the nominee. The prize can be awarded to a single person or shared for closely related fundamental contributions. Deceased persons cannot be nominated. If an Abel Laureate passes away before receiving the prize, then the prize will be awarded post mortem.

The nomination should be accompanied by a CV, a description of the work and impact of the nominee/nominees, together with names of distinguished specialists in the field of the nominee/nominees who can be contacted for an independent opinion.

The nomination deadline is September 15th for the nomination to be considered for the Abel Prize the following year.

Self-nominations will not be considered.

I have read the above paragraphs carefully and wish to nominate a candidate for the Abel Prize.

If you have further questions, please contact us at

The Abel Committee

The Abel Committee recommends the candidate for the Abel Prize, and submits its recommendation to the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters which selects the Abel Laureate on the basis of the recommendation from the committee.

Announcement of the Abel Laureate

The name of the Abel Laureate will be announced in late March.

Online Nomination form
About the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize recognizes outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis and scientific computing, statistics, and also applications of mathematics in the sciences.

The prize is meant to recognize contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences. Such work may have resolved fundamental problems, created powerful new techniques, introduced unifying principles or opened up major new fields of research. The intent is to award prizes over the course of time in a broad range of fields within the mathematical sciences.

The Abel Prize amounts to NOK 7,5 million.

Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS