The 2005 Abel Prize to Peter D. Lax

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters decided to award the Abel Prize for 2005 to Peter D. Lax, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University. Lax received the Abel Prize “for his groundbreaking contributions to the theory and application of partial differential equations and to the computation of their solutions” to quote the Abel Committee.

Jan Fridtjof Bernt og Erling Størmer Jan Fridtjof Bernt, President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, and Erling Størmer, chair of the Abel committee. Photo: Bjørn Sigurdsøn/Scanpix

Peter D. Lax has been described as the most versatile mathematician of his generation. He stands out in joining together pure and applied mathematics, combining a deep understanding of analysis with an extraordinary capacity to find unifying concepts. He has had a profound influence, not only by his research, but also by his writing, his lifelong commitment to education and his generosity to younger mathematicians.
Peter D. Lax’s work has been recognized by many honours and awards. He was awarded the National Medal of Science in 1986, presented by President Ronald Reagan at a White House ceremony. Lax received the Wolf Prize in 1987 and the Chauvenet Prize in 1974 and shared the American Mathematical Society’s Steele Prize in 1992.

Peter D. Lax became a member of the US National Academy of Sciences in 1962. He has also been both president (1977-80) and vice president (1969-71) of the American Mathematical Society.

Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS