The Abel Prize announcement

March 18 |12:00 (GMT + 1)

Go to Livestream

Livestream starts in:

Louis Nirenberg

Louis Nirenberg, Abel Prize laureate, dies at 94

Nirenberg was the Abel Prize recipient together with John F. Nash Jr. in 2015 and received the prize "for striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis."

(27.01.2020) Read more
Karen Uhlenbeck received the 2019 Abel Prize from H.M, King Harlad V at an award ceremony in the University Aula in Oslo.

The Abel Prize is increased by 1.5 million NOK

The board of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to increase the prize amount for the Abel Prize from 6 to 7.5 million NOK.

(12.12.2019) Read more
Abel banners on Karl Johan street in Oslo

Abel Prize celebrations in Oslo

Karen Uhlenbeck received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald V

His Majesty King Harald V presented the 2019 Abel Prize to Karen Uhlenbeck at an award ceremony in the University Aula in Oslo on the 21st of May. Uhlenbeck is "Professor Emerita of Mathematics and Sid W. Richardson Regents Chair at the University of Texas at Austin" and "Visitor in the School of Mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study".

(17.05.2019) Read more
Georg Sverdrups hus

Abel lectures at the University of Oslo

The lectures will be streamed

Karen Uhlenbeck gave her Abel Prize lecture on the 22nd of May at the University of Oslo. Chuu-LianTerng and Robert Bryant gave lectures related to Uhlenbeck's work. The popular science lecture was given by stand-up mathematician Matt Parker.

(14.05.2019) Read more
In 1987 Karen Keskulla Uhlenbeck moved to the University of Texas at Austin to take up the Sid W. Richardson Foundation Regents' Chair in mathematics where she worked until 2014. Currently, Uhlenbeck is a Visiting Senior Research Scholar at Princeton University as well as Visitor in the School of Mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study (IAS). Photo: Andrea Kane/Institute for Advanced Study

Karen Uhlenbeck first woman to win the Abel Prize

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2019 to Karen Keskulla Uhlenbeck of the University of Texas at Austin, USA “for her pioneering achievements in geometric partial differential equations, gauge theory and integrable systems, and for the fundamental impact of her work on analysis, geometry and mathematical physics.”

His Majesty King Harald V will present the Abel Prize to the laureate at the award ceremony in Oslo on the 21st of May.

(19.03.2019) Read more


Welcome to the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize was established on 1 January 2002. The purpose is to award the Abel Prize for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics. The prize amount is 7,5 million NOK and was awarded for the first time on 3 June 2003.

The prize is awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, which has appointed an Abel Committee consisting of five mathematicians to review the nominated candidates and submit a recommendation for a worthy Abel laureate.

<February 2020>
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29  

Arrangementer i tiden fremover

18 March 2020 at 12:00

The Abel Prize announcement

Location: Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi

Hans Petter Graver, President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, will announce the winner of the 2020 Abel Prize. Hans Munthe-Kaas, chair of the Abel committee, will then give the reasons for the awarding of the prize. The announcement will be transmitted as a live webcast.

18 May 2020 at 17:00

Wreath-laying ceremony at the Abel Monument

Location: Royal Palace Grounds, Oslo

The Abel Laureate will honour Niels Henrik Abel by laying down a wreath at the Abel Monument.

18 May 2020 at 18:00

Dinner in honour of the Abel Laureate

Location: The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters will host a dinner in honour of the Abel Laureate. Among the invited guests will be members of the Abel committee and the Abel board, members of the Academy's mathematics group and visiting mathematicians from many countries. By invitation only.

19 May 2020 at 14:00

The Abel Prize award ceremony

Location: University Aula in Oslo, Norway

The University in Oslo`s beautiful aula with its many well-known Munch paintings forms the usual framework for this year's Abel Prize Award Ceremony

19 May 2020 at 15:00

Reception at Det Norske Teatret

Location: Det Norske Teatret, Oslo

After the award ceremony there will be a reception at Det Norske Teatret, where the laureate will be interviewed.

20 May 2020 at 10:00

The Abel Lectures

Location: Georg Sverdrups hus, University of Oslo

The Abel laureate will give the prize lecture at the University of Oslo, among with other invited lecturers.

20 May 2020 at 19:00

The Abel Party

Location: The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

The Abel Prize Laureates 2003-2019

2019: Karen Keskulla Uhlenbeck
Robert Langlands
2017: Yves Meyer
2016: Sir Andrew J. Wiles
2015: John F. Nash Jr. & Louis Nirenberg
2014: Yakov G. Sinai
2013: Pierre Deligne
2012: Endre Szemerédi
2011: John Milnor
2010: John Torrence Tate
2009: Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov
2008: John Griggs Thompson and Jacques Tits
2007: Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan
2006: Lennart Carleson
2005: Peter D. Lax
2004: Sir Michael Francis Atiyah and Isadore M. Singer
2003: Jean-Pierre Serre

Press contacts
Niels Henrik Abel

The exceptional Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel was born on 5 August 1802. When he died, only 26 years old, he left a large body of work, including the first proof of the general binomial theorem, which had been stated by Newton and Euler. 

We present his life story and links to his works in the Niels Henrik Abel section of this website.

Abel in...
The Abel Prize 2003-2017

Editors: Helge Holden & Ragni Piene

All books availiable in PDF and free

More information

Heidelberg Laureate Forum

The Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation (HLFF) annually organizes the Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF). Through a formal agreement between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and the Klaus Tschira Stiftung, the Abel Prize is part of the Forum.
Read more:

The Abel Symposium

The Board for the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund has established an annual Abel Symposium, which is administrated by the Norwegian Mathematical Society.

Read more: The Abel Symposium


Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS