Three days of celebration for Abel Laureate Yves Meyer

His Majesty King Harald will present the Abel Prize to Yves Meyer at an award ceremony in Oslo on 23 May. He receives the prize "for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets", to quote the Abel committee. Yves Meyer, of the École  normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, was the visionary leader in the modern development of this theory, at the intersection of mathematics, information technology and computational science.

The Abel Prize carries a cash award of 6 million NOK (about EUR 700,000 or USD 750,000) and has been awarded annually since 2003 by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

Watch the shortfilm about Yves Meyer:


As a prelude to the award ceremony the audience will be invited on a journey into the history of the Abel Prize presented in pictures and words. The Abel Fanfare, composed by Klaus Sandvik in 2004, will be performed by musicians from the Staff Band of the Norwegian Armed Forces as the Abel Laureate enters the University Aula.

The opening speech will be given by Ole M. Sejersted, President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. The audience in the University Aula will then be taken on a journey to Paris where Yves Meyer in a short film, made by Ekaterina Eremenko, will give us a glimpse into his mathematical world.

The chair of the international Abel Committee, John Rognes, will then give the reasons for the awarding of the prize. He will then ask His Majesty King Harald to come to the stage to present the Abel Prize for 2017 to Yves Meyer.

After the award ceremony there will be a reception where Yves Meyer will be interviewed by Nadia Hasnaoui, a Norwegian television presenter, in front of a live audience.

In the evening the Norwegian government will host a banquet at Akershus castle in honour of the Abel Laureate. There will be speeches by Robbert Dijkgraaf (picture, left)Director of the Institute for Advanced Study and Leon Levy Professor at Princeton University and by Torbjørn Røe Isaksen, the Norwegian Minister of Education and Research.


The Abel Prize is named after Norway's most famous mathematician, Niels Henrik Abel (1802-1829). It has become a tradition that the Abel Laureate places a wreath at Gustav Vigeland's Abel Monument in the Palace Park to mark the beginning of the official Abel celebration that this year starts on 22 May.

Yves Meyer will give his prize lecture at the University of Oslo on 24 May. After his lecture he will meet school children at a math circus. Meyer will also be guest of honour at the Holmboe Prize award ceremony on 22 May. The prize is named after Abel's math teacher and honors excellence in teaching mathematics.

Yves Meyer was celebrated at a reception hosted by Académie des Sciences in Paris on the day of the announcement. Photo: Académie des sciencesYves Meyer was celebrated at a reception hosted by Académie des Sciences in Paris on the day of the announcement. Photo: Académie des sciences

The 2017 Award Ceremony

May 23, 1:PM GMT (14.00 Norwegian time)

Watch the rerun

The Abel Prize 2017 Events Registration

Registration for the Abel Prize 2017 events:

The Abel Prize Events Registration

Who will be the next Abel Laureate?

The Abel Committee has embarked on the long journey in search of the next Abel Laureate. The committee which consists of five distinguished mathematicians has had its first meeting at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo the 2nd and 3rd of October. The next meeting will take place in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania early next year.

(03.10.2018) More

Record turnout for Atiyah’s Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio

1250 mathematicians from all over the world filled the big conference hall in Rio de Janeiro on Monday the 6th of August to listen to Sir Michael Atiyah’s  Abel Lecture, “The Future of Mathematical Physics: New ideas in old bottles”.

(08.08.2018) More

Sir Michael Atiyah gives Abel lecture at ICM in Rio

Sir Michael Atiyah who receiced the Abel Prize in 2004, shared with Isadore Singer, will give the Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio on the 6th of August. He has titled the lecture: "The Future of Mathematical Physics: new ideas in old bottles". Atiyah will be introduced by Jacob Palis, former president of the International Mathematical Union and a member of the Abel Committee.

(26.07.2018) More

Robert P. Langlands received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald

In the University Aula in Oslo, surrounded by Munch's paintings and a diverse mathematical audience, Robert P. Langlands was today, May 22, awarded the Abel Prize for 2018 by H.M. King Harald. Langlands received the award of 6 million NOK “for his visionary program connecting representation theory to number theory.” The Langlands program is frequently described as a grand unified theory of mathematics.

(22.05.2018) More

The Abel lectures 2018

Abel Laureate Robert Langlands gave his prize lecture titled "On the geometric theory" at the University of Oslo on the 23th of May. John Rognes, chair of the Abel committee, introduced Langlands to an almost full auditorium. Langlands' lecture was followed by two others talks, by Jim Arthur and Edward Frenkel. Watch the lectures live

(08.05.2018) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS