Sir Andrew J. Wiles received the Abel Prize from H.R.H. Crown Prince Haakon

Andrew Wiles received the 2016 Abel Prize from Norway's Crown Prince Haakon at an award ceremony in Oslo today, on 24 May. He receives the prize "for his stunning proof of Fermat's Last Theorem by way of the modularity conjecture for semistable elliptic curves, opening a new era in number theory", to quote the Abel Committee. The Abel Prize carries a cash award of 6 million NOK (about EUR 700,000 or USD 750,000) and has been awarded annually since 2003 by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

Andrew Wiles receives the 2016 Abel Prize from Crown Prince Haakon. Photo: Audun BraastadAndrew Wiles receives the 2016 Abel Prize from Crown Prince Haakon. Photo: Audun Braastad

The Abel Fanfare, composed by Klaus Sandvik, was performed by musicians from the Staff Band of the Norwegian Armed Forces as the Abel Laureate entered the University Aula accompanied by members of the Abel committee, the chair of the Abel board and the President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

As a prelude to the award ceremony the audience was invited on a journey into the history of the Abel Prize presented in pictures and words. The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Ole M. Sejersted, gave the opening speech where he talked about the history and the vision of the Abel Prize. 

Film about the laureate

The Berlin-based filmmaker and mathematician Ekaterina Eremenko has visited Andrew J. Wiles at the University of Oxford where he is a Royal Society Research Professor. His address at the Mathematical Institute is the Andrew Wiles Building, which opened in 2013 and was named in his honour. In Eremenko's film, which was shown at the award ceremony, Wiles shares his thoughts about life and mathematics.

After the showing of the films the chair of the Abel Committee, John Rognes, gave the reasons for the awarding of the 2016 Abel Prize to Sir Andrew J. Wiles. He then asked H.R.H. Crown Prince Haakon to come forward to present the Abel Prize to the laureate.

After the award ceremony there was a reception at Det Norske Teatret (The Norwegian Theatre). During the reception the laureate was interviewed by Nadia Hasnaoui, a Norwegian journalist and TV-presenter. 

Earlier today the Abel Laureate was received in audience at the Royal Palace. The Abel Banquet at Akershus Castle, hosted by Torbjørn Røe Isaksen, Minister of Education and Research, ended the day.

Photo: Audun BraastadPhoto: Audun Braastad


The Award Ceremony - Program

Ceremony program and speeches(pdf)

Yakov G. Sinai gives lecture at "Abel in Pittsburgh"

The Department of Mathematical Sciences at Carnegie Mellon University is hosting the "Abel in Pittsburgh" conference where Yakov G. Sinai who received the Abel Prize in 2014 is one of the speakers. The conference is organized by professor and member of the Abel commitee Irene Fonseca and will take place on the 11th of January 2019. "Abel in Pittsburgh" will be the 9th edition of a one-day conference with lectures aimed at a mathematically educated and interested audience, with the objective of increasing public awareness.

(05.11.2018) More

The Abel Symposium 2019

Abel Symposium 2019 will take place at Scandic Parken Hotel Ålesund, 23-29 June 2019. The title of the symposium is: Geometry, Lie Theory and Applications.

(02.11.2018) More

Who will be the next Abel Laureate?

The Abel Committee has embarked on the long journey in search of the next Abel Laureate. The committee which consists of five distinguished mathematicians has had its first meeting at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo the 2nd and 3rd of October. The next meeting will take place in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania early next year.

(03.10.2018) More

Record turnout for Atiyah’s Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio

1250 mathematicians from all over the world filled the big conference hall in Rio de Janeiro on Monday the 6th of August to listen to Sir Michael Atiyah’s  Abel Lecture, “The Future of Mathematical Physics: New ideas in old bottles”.

(08.08.2018) More

Sir Michael Atiyah gives Abel lecture at ICM in Rio

Sir Michael Atiyah who receiced the Abel Prize in 2004, shared with Isadore Singer, will give the Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio on the 6th of August. He has titled the lecture: "The Future of Mathematical Physics: new ideas in old bottles". Atiyah will be introduced by Jacob Palis, former president of the International Mathematical Union and a member of the Abel Committee.

(26.07.2018) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS