Abel Prize announcement March 25th

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Kirsti Strøm Bull, will announce the winner of the Abel Prize 2015 on the 25th of March at 11 GMT  (12 noon in Oslo, Norway). The announcement will be transmitted live from the Academy.

President Kirsti Strøm Bull and Chair of the Abel Committee John Rognes. Photo: Eirik Furu BaardsenPresident Kirsti Strøm Bull and the chair of the Abel Committee John Rognes. Photo: Eirik Furu Baardsen

The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the recommendation of the Abel Committee. The chair of the Abel Committee, John Rognes, will give the reasons for the awarding of the prize. Writer and broadcaster Alex Bellos will give a popular science presentation of the prize winner's work.

Alex Bellos will give a presentation of the prize winnerAlex Bellos will give a presentation of the prize winner

The Abel Prize has been awarded annually since 2003. The Abel Prize Award Ceremony will take place on the 19th of May at the University Aula in Oslo, Norway. The Abel Laureate will receive the prize from HM King Harald. The Norwegian Government will host a banquet at Akershus Castle in honour of the Abel Laureate.

The Abel Prize which carries a cash award of 6 million NOK (about 800.000 Euro or 1 million USD).



A mathematics special at the House of Literature
After the announcement, the celebration of this year’s Abel prize winner will continue at the House of Literature. From 6.00 -7.30 pm the public is invited into the world of mathematics.

The program, which begins with a welcome by the president of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Kirsti Strøm Bull, will include a short presentation of this year’s winner by Alex Bellos, as well as an elaboration of the committee’s choice by acclaimed French mathematician and member of the Abel Committee, Cèdric Villany, live from Paris.

In the main part, research journalist from NRK Torkild Jemterud will open the doors to a mathematics special of his radioprogram “The Tower of Abel”, where a panel of accomplished mathematicians including Jo Røislien, Kristina Rognlien Dahl and Nils Henrik Risebro, will be discussing this year’s Abel Prize winner, as well as examining the question of the truth about mathematics. The discussion will be in norwegian.

Time: March 25, 6.00 - 7.30 pm
Address: Wergelandsveien 29, 0167 Oslo

The 2015 Abel Prize announcement rerun


The 2015 Abel Prize announcement was broadcasted live at:

  • 11 GMT  (12 noon in Oslo, Norway)
    25th of March

Record turnout for Atiyah’s Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio

1250 mathematicians from all over the world filled the big conference hall in Rio de Janeiro on Monday the 6th of August to listen to Sir Michael Atiyah’s  Abel Lecture, “The Future of Mathematical Physics: New ideas in old bottles”.

(08.08.2018) More

Sir Michael Atiyah gives Abel lecture at ICM in Rio

Sir Michael Atiyah who receiced the Abel Prize in 2004, shared with Isadore Singer, will give the Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio on the 6th of August. He has titled the lecture: "The Future of Mathematical Physics: new ideas in old bottles". Atiyah will be introduced by Jacob Palis, former president of the International Mathematical Union and a member of the Abel Committee.

(26.07.2018) More

Robert P. Langlands received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald

In the University Aula in Oslo, surrounded by Munch's paintings and a diverse mathematical audience, Robert P. Langlands was today, May 22, awarded the Abel Prize for 2018 by H.M. King Harald. Langlands received the award of 6 million NOK “for his visionary program connecting representation theory to number theory.” The Langlands program is frequently described as a grand unified theory of mathematics.

(22.05.2018) More

The Abel lectures 2018

Abel Laureate Robert Langlands gave his prize lecture titled "On the geometric theory" at the University of Oslo on the 23th of May. John Rognes, chair of the Abel committee, introduced Langlands to an almost full auditorium. Langlands' lecture was followed by two others talks, by Jim Arthur and Edward Frenkel. Watch the lectures live

(08.05.2018) More

Would you like to attend the 2018 Abel Prize award ceremony?

The Abel Prize award ceremony takes place at 22 may 2018, 14:00 in the University Aula in Oslo, Norway. His Majesty King Harald V will present the prize to this year’s laureate, Robert P. Langlands.  The ceremony is open, but requires registration. For registration, click here

(11.04.2018) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
E-post: abelprisen@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
E-mail: abelprisen@dnva.no
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS