Abel committee meeting and seminar in India

The Abel Committee is in the process of evaluating candidates for 2012 Abel Prize. The committee will meet in Mumbai, India 24-25 February 2012. The committee members will the day before give lectures at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research.

 The Abel Committee:

  • Ragni Piene, University of Oslo (Chair)
  • David Donoho, Stanford University, USA 
  • M. S. Raghunathan, Indian Institute of Technology, India
  • Noga Alon, Tel Aviv University, Israel
  • Terence Tao, UCLA, Los Angeles, USA

The committee delivers its recommendations to the Board of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, who makes the final decision. The President of the Academy, Professor Nils Chr. Stenseth will announce the winner on 21 March, immediately after the board meeting. The Abel Prize 2012 will be awarded 22 May at the University Aula in Oslo.

The 2012 Abel committee: From left: David Donoho, M. S. Raghunathan, Ragni Piene, Noga Alon og Terence Tao.The 2012 Abel committee: From left: David Donoho, M. S. Raghunathan, Ragni Piene, Noga Alon og Terence Tao.

Yakov G. Sinai gives lecture at "Abel in Pittsburgh"

The Department of Mathematical Sciences at Carnegie Mellon University is hosting the "Abel in Pittsburgh" conference where Yakov G. Sinai who received the Abel Prize in 2014 is one of the speakers. The conference is organized by professor and member of the Abel commitee Irene Fonseca and will take place on the 11th of January 2019. "Abel in Pittsburgh" will be the 9th edition of a one-day conference with lectures aimed at a mathematically educated and interested audience, with the objective of increasing public awareness.

(05.11.2018) More

The Abel Symposium 2019

Abel Symposium 2019 will take place at Scandic Parken Hotel Ålesund, 23-29 June 2019. The title of the symposium is: Geometry, Lie Theory and Applications.

(02.11.2018) More

Who will be the next Abel Laureate?

The Abel Committee has embarked on the long journey in search of the next Abel Laureate. The committee which consists of five distinguished mathematicians has had its first meeting at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo the 2nd and 3rd of October. The next meeting will take place in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania early next year.

(03.10.2018) More

Record turnout for Atiyah’s Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio

1250 mathematicians from all over the world filled the big conference hall in Rio de Janeiro on Monday the 6th of August to listen to Sir Michael Atiyah’s  Abel Lecture, “The Future of Mathematical Physics: New ideas in old bottles”.

(08.08.2018) More

Sir Michael Atiyah gives Abel lecture at ICM in Rio

Sir Michael Atiyah who receiced the Abel Prize in 2004, shared with Isadore Singer, will give the Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio on the 6th of August. He has titled the lecture: "The Future of Mathematical Physics: new ideas in old bottles". Atiyah will be introduced by Jacob Palis, former president of the International Mathematical Union and a member of the Abel Committee.

(26.07.2018) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
E-post: abelprisen@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
E-mail: abelprisen@dnva.no
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS