HM King Harald presents the Abel Prize

The American mathematician John Torrence Tate, University of Texas at Austin, will receive the 2010 Abel Prize from His Majesty King Harald at an award ceremony in Oslo, Norway, 25 May. The Abel Prize carries a cash award of NOK 6,000,000 (close to € 730,000 or US$ 1 mill.) is awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.
At the award ceremony there will be speeches by the President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Nils Chr. Stenseth and by Kristian Seip, the chairman of the Abel committee.

Before the award ceremony John Tate will be received in audience at the Royal Palace. In the evening the Norwegian government gives a banquet at Akershus Castle in honor of the Abel Laureate, hosted by the Minister of Research and Higher Education, Tora Aasland. The speakers at the banquet will be the Minister and Sir Michael Atiyah who, together with Isadore Singer, received the Abel Prize in 2004.

It has become a tradition that the Abel Laureate honors Niels Henrik Abel by laying down a wreath at the Abel Monument the day before the award ceremony. This also opens the Abel celebrations in Oslo and Kristiansand - and this year also in Stockholm.
br> Abel Lectures and Science Lecture
John T. Tate will give his Abel Lecture "The arithmetic of elliptic curves" at the University of Oslo on May 26. Richard Taylor will give the other Abel Lecture with the title "The Tate Conjecture". His summary: I will briefly recall some of John Tate's most influential mathematical achievements. I will then discuss in more detail one of them: the Tate conjecture. I hope to describe how the Birch-Swinnerton-Dyer conjecture led Tate to this conjecture; what the conjecture says; Tate's proof of his conjecture in an important special case; and some of the impact the conjecture has had.

Andreas Enge will present the Science Lecture where the topic is cryptology with the title "The queen of mathematics in communication security". His summary: Number theory and arithmetic geometry have found surprising applications to cryptology, the science of protecting communication from malicious intruders. In particular, abelian varieties of low dimension currently provide the most performing public key cryptosystems. After giving a brief and self-contained introduction to modern cryptography, I discuss some of John Tate's results on abelian varieties and how they relate to the design of secure systems.

Yakov G. Sinai gives lecture at "Abel in Pittsburgh"

The Department of Mathematical Sciences at Carnegie Mellon University is hosting the "Abel in Pittsburgh" conference where Yakov G. Sinai who received the Abel Prize in 2014 is one of the speakers. The conference is organized by professor and member of the Abel commitee Irene Fonseca and will take place on the 11th of January 2019. "Abel in Pittsburgh" will be the 9th edition of a one-day conference with lectures aimed at a mathematically educated and interested audience, with the objective of increasing public awareness.

(05.11.2018) More

The Abel Symposium 2019

Abel Symposium 2019 will take place at Scandic Parken Hotel Ålesund, 23-29 June 2019. The title of the symposium is: Geometry, Lie Theory and Applications.

(02.11.2018) More

Who will be the next Abel Laureate?

The Abel Committee has embarked on the long journey in search of the next Abel Laureate. The committee which consists of five distinguished mathematicians has had its first meeting at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo the 2nd and 3rd of October. The next meeting will take place in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania early next year.

(03.10.2018) More

Record turnout for Atiyah’s Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio

1250 mathematicians from all over the world filled the big conference hall in Rio de Janeiro on Monday the 6th of August to listen to Sir Michael Atiyah’s  Abel Lecture, “The Future of Mathematical Physics: New ideas in old bottles”.

(08.08.2018) More

Sir Michael Atiyah gives Abel lecture at ICM in Rio

Sir Michael Atiyah who receiced the Abel Prize in 2004, shared with Isadore Singer, will give the Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio on the 6th of August. He has titled the lecture: "The Future of Mathematical Physics: new ideas in old bottles". Atiyah will be introduced by Jacob Palis, former president of the International Mathematical Union and a member of the Abel Committee.

(26.07.2018) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS