Choosing an Abel Laureate

Professor Kristian Seip, chairman of the Abel Committee, explained why Mikhail L. Gromov was awarded the Abel Prize for 2009 after the name of this year’s Abel Laureate had been announced by Øyvind Østerud, the President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.
Praeses, ladies and gentlemen, The 2009 Abel Prize is awarded to Mikhail Gromov for his revolutionary contributions to geometry. Geometry is one of the oldest fields of mathematics; it has engaged the attention of great mathematicians through the centuries, but underwent revolutionary change during the last 50 years. Mikhail Gromov has led some of the most important developments, producing profoundly original general ideas which have resulted in new perspectives on geometry and other areas of mathematics. Riemannian geometry developed from the study of curved surfaces and their higher dimensional analogues, and has found applications for instance to the theory of general relativity. Gromov played a decisive role in the creation of modern global Riemannian geometry. His solutions of important problems in global geometry relied on new general concepts, such as convergence of Riemannian manifolds and a compactness principle, which now bear his name. Gromov is one of the founders of the field of global symplectic geometry. Holomorphic curves were known to be an important tool in the geometry of complex manifolds. However, the environment of integrable complex structures was too rigid. In a famous paper in 1985, he extended the concept of holomorphic curves to J-holomorphic curves on symplectic manifolds. This led to the theory of Gromov-Witten invariants, which is now an extremely active subject linked to modern quantum field theory. It also led to the creation of symplectic topology and gradually penetrated and transformed many other areas of mathematics. Gromov’s work on groups of polynomial growth introduced ideas that forever changed the way in which a discrete infinite group is viewed. He discovered the geometry of discrete groups and solved several outstanding problems. His geometrical approach rendered complicated combinatorial arguments much more natural and powerful. Mikhail Gromov is always in pursuit of new questions and is constantly thinking of new ideas for solutions of long-standing problems. He has produced deep and original work throughout his career and remains remarkably creative. The work of Gromov will continue to be a source of inspiration for many future mathematical discoveries.

Record turnout for Atiyah’s Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio

1250 mathematicians from all over the world filled the big conference hall in Rio de Janeiro on Monday the 6th of August to listen to Sir Michael Atiyah’s  Abel Lecture, “The Future of Mathematical Physics: New ideas in old bottles”.

(08.08.2018) More

Sir Michael Atiyah gives Abel lecture at ICM in Rio

Sir Michael Atiyah who receiced the Abel Prize in 2004, shared with Isadore Singer, will give the Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio on the 6th of August. He has titled the lecture: "The Future of Mathematical Physics: new ideas in old bottles". Atiyah will be introduced by Jacob Palis, former president of the International Mathematical Union and a member of the Abel Committee.

(26.07.2018) More

Robert P. Langlands received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald

In the University Aula in Oslo, surrounded by Munch's paintings and a diverse mathematical audience, Robert P. Langlands was today, May 22, awarded the Abel Prize for 2018 by H.M. King Harald. Langlands received the award of 6 million NOK “for his visionary program connecting representation theory to number theory.” The Langlands program is frequently described as a grand unified theory of mathematics.

(22.05.2018) More

The Abel lectures 2018

Abel Laureate Robert Langlands gave his prize lecture titled "On the geometric theory" at the University of Oslo on the 23th of May. John Rognes, chair of the Abel committee, introduced Langlands to an almost full auditorium. Langlands' lecture was followed by two others talks, by Jim Arthur and Edward Frenkel. Watch the lectures live

(08.05.2018) More

Would you like to attend the 2018 Abel Prize award ceremony?

The Abel Prize award ceremony takes place at 22 may 2018, 14:00 in the University Aula in Oslo, Norway. His Majesty King Harald V will present the prize to this year’s laureate, Robert P. Langlands.  The ceremony is open, but requires registration. For registration, click here

(11.04.2018) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS