Brazilian mathematician Enrique R. Pujals to receive pestigious math prize

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) will present its annual Ramanujan Prize for young mathematicians from developing countries at an awards ceremony to be held at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo on 20 May.
Enrique R. Pujals, associate researcher at the Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada (IMPA), Brazil, has been awarded the 2008 Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize in recognition of "his outstanding contributions to dynamical systems, especially the characterization of robust dynamics for flows and transformations and the development of a theory of generic systems." The study of dynamical systems has its origins in mechanics, which predicts the motions of particles and bodies subject to Newton's laws of motion. These relatively simple laws can produce very complicated trajectories. Quantitative predictions are therefore rarely possible. Very interesting qualitative phenomena emerge, however - "chaos" among them - and the mathematical study of these phenomena remains a topic of intense interest to mathematicians. Professor Pujals received a Ph.D. in 1996 from IMPA. His past achievements include a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2000 as well as the Award of the Mathematical Union of Latin America and the Caribbean in 2004. The Ramanujan Prize reflects ICTP's mandate to strengthen science in developing countries and is the only international prize honouring young mathematicians from those regions. The prize winner is selected by ICTP through a committee of five eminent mathematicians appointed in conjunction with the International Mathematical Union (IMU). The prize, which carries a US$15,000 cash award, is funded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters through the Henrik Abel Memorial Fund, with the cooperation of IMU. The Ramanujan Prize and ICTP
The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) has established the Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize in honour of the mathematics genius from India. The Prize is awarded annually to a mathematician under 45 years of age. Since the mandate of ICTP is to strengthen science in developing countries, the Ramanujan Prize has been created for mathematicians from those regions of the world. Srinivasa Ramanujan is the quintessential symbol of the best in mathematics from the developing world, and naming the Prize after him seemed entirely appropriate. Based in Trieste, Italy, the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics fosters advanced studies and research in physics and mathematics, especially in developing countries. The Centre operates under a tripartite agreement between the Italian Government, UNESCO and IAEA. Each year about 7000 scientists from around the world visit ICTP for workshops, training and research.


More information about the Ramanujan Prize

More information about the Ramanujan Prize

Abel in Oxford" with lecture by Sir Andrew Wiles

It has become a tradition that the Abel Committee after its final meeting hosts an Abel seminar. This year the committee meeting at London Mathematical Society was followed by "Abel in Oxford" with Abel Laureate Andrew Wiles as the main speaker. Martin Bridson, head of the Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford and Camilla Serck-Hanssen, Vice President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters gave introductory talks.

(02.02.2018) More

Yves Meyer received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald

H.M. King Harald presented the Abel Prize to Yves Meyer of the École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, France at an award ceremony in Oslo on 23 May. He receives the prize for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets, says John Rognes, chair of the Abel committee. Among the prominent guests attending the award  ceremony was the French ambassador to Norway, Jean-François Dobelle and the Norwegian Minister of Education and Research, Torbjørn Røe Isaksen.

(26.05.2017) More

Three days of celebration for Abel Laureate Yves Meyer

His Majesty King Harald will present the Abel Prize to Yves Meyer at an award ceremony in Oslo on 23 May. He receives the prize "for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets", to quote the Abel committee. Yves Meyer, of the École  normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, was the visionary leader in the modern development of this theory, at the intersection of mathematics, information technology and computational science.

(12.05.2017) More

The Abel lectures 2017

Abel Laureate Yves Meyer gave his prize lecture at the University of Oslo on the 24th of May, with following Abel lectures by Stéphane Mallat, Ingrid Daubechies og Emmanuel Jean Candès. Watch the lectures here.

(08.05.2017) More

Congratulations from AMS President

"On behalf of the American Mathematical Society, it is my great pleasure to congratulate Professor Yves Meyer, recipient of the 2017 Abel Prize.  Professor Meyer has been a visionary in a broad range of fields, including number theory and differential equations.  His fundamental work in the theory of wavelets has transformed the world of signal processing and has led to a myriad of practical applications."  -- AMS President Kenneth A. Ribet (University of California, Berkeley)
Photo: Jim Brook


(02.04.2017) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS