The Abel Prize awarded Thompson and Tits

On Tuesday, His Majesty King Harald presented the Abel Prize for 2008 to the two mathematicians, John Griggs Thompson of the USA and Jacques Tits of France. The ceremony took place in the University of Oslo Aula. The King was accompanied by Her Majesty Queen Sonja. The two prize winners will share the prize money, which amounts to NOK 6 million.
Thompson and Tits have won the prize for their contributions to what is referred to as group theory. The Abel Committee Chairman, Professor Kristian Seip, said in his explanation that the prize is awarded “for their outstanding achievements in algebra and especially for their shaping of modern group theory”. The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters is responsible for awarding the prize, and the Academy's President, Ole Didrik Lærum, noted in his speech that the Abel Prize was not just established to honour outstanding scientific achievements, but also to promote a greater appreciation in the society of the importance of mathematics and to stimulate young people's interest in the subject. The composer and pianist Ketil Bjørnstad, the mezzo-soprano Randi Stene and the violist Lars Anders Tomter provided the ceremony's musical performances. The Norwegian government took the initiative to establish the Abel Prize several years ago, and Niels Henrik Abel's Memorial Fund was established in 2001. The return from the fund is utilised in a number of activities in order to stimulate mathematical interest, among other things through the Abel Prize. The so-called Holmboe Prize, named after Niels Henrik Abel's teacher, was awarded on Monday. This prize goes to a teacher who shows a special enthusiasm for mathematics in his/her instruction. This year's prize was awarded to Elisabeth Aksnes at the Bryne School. Prior to the presentation of the prize in the Aula, Thompson and Tits had an audience with His Majesty King Harald and Her Majesty Queen Sonja at the Royal Palace. The final event of the day will be the banquet given by the Norwegian government at Akershus Fortress, where Minister of Research and Higher Education Tora Aasland is the host. On Wednesday, the two prize winners will hold their Abel Lectures at the University of Oslo.


Program for the Abel Award ceremony

Program for the Abel Award ceremony

The Abel lectures 2018

Abel Laureate Robert Langlands gave his prize lecture titled "On the geometric theory" at the University of Oslo on the 23th of May. John Rognes, chair of the Abel committee, introduced Langlands to an almost full auditorium. Langlands' lecture was followed by two others talks, by Jim Arthur and Edward Frenkel. Watch the lectures live

(08.05.2018) More

Robert P. Langlands received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald

In the University Aula in Oslo, surrounded by Munch's paintings and a diverse mathematical audience, Robert P. Langlands was today, May 22, awarded the Abel Prize for 2018 by H.M. King Harald. Langlands received the award of 6 million NOK “for his visionary program connecting representation theory to number theory.” The Langlands program is frequently described as a grand unified theory of mathematics.

(22.05.2018) More

Would you like to attend the 2018 Abel Prize award ceremony?

The Abel Prize award ceremony takes place at 22 may 2018, 14:00 in the University Aula in Oslo, Norway. His Majesty King Harald V will present the prize to this year’s laureate, Robert P. Langlands.  The ceremony is open, but requires registration. For registration, click here

(11.04.2018) More

AMS President congratulates Robert P. Langlands

"It is my great pleasure to congratulate Professor Robert P. Langlands, winner of the 2018 Abel Prize. Robert Langlands is one of the most distinguished mathematicians alive today and a towering figure in the history of modern mathematics. His insights, which grew out of penetrating technical work early in his career, have transformed and enriched both number theory and representation theory. The deep relations between the two subjects that he predicted and probed have guided the work of countless mathematicians over the last 50 years."
- Kenneth A. Ribet, AMS President, University of California, Berkeley


Article about Abel Prize winner Langlands

Published on the AMS website

Robert P. Langlands receives the Abel Prize

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2018 to Robert P. Langlands of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA “for his visionary program connecting representation theory to number theory.”

(19.03.2018) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS