Royal handshake for Varadhan in Oslo

The Norwegian King and Queen, the Prime Minister and the Minister of Education and Research all took part in the celebration of the Abel Laureate Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan. His Majesty King Harald presented the Abel Prize for 2007 to Varadhan at an award ceremony in the University Aula in Oslo 22 May.
Earlier that day Varadhan was received in audience at the Royal Palace. In the evening Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg hosted a banquet at Akershus Castle in honour of the Abel Laureate. King Harald, Queen Sonja and Øystein Djupedal, the Minister of Education and Research were among the many prominent guests The Abel banners flanked Karl Johan’s street all the way up to the Royal Palace when Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan arrived in Oslo 19 May for the Abel celebrations. The Abel Laureate had an extensive programme for the five days he stayed in Oslo. On Sunday 20 May he gave a talk to young people at the Science Café about “To expect the unexpected”. On Monday 21st of May Srinivasa Varadhan was the guest of honour at Oslo Cathedral School, Niels Henrik Abel’s school. Here he presented the Holmboe Prize - named after Abel’s teacher - to a distinguished mathematics teacher. During this event Varadhan also met young students from Norway and Germany who have won mathematics contests. In the evening the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters hosted a dinner in honour of the Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan. Abel Laureates Peter D. Lax (2005) and Lennart Carleson(2006) were be among the guests. On Tuesday 22nd of May it was time for the award ceremony in the University Aula and the banquet at Akershus Castle. On Wednesday 23rd of May Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan gave his Abel Lecture at the University of Oslo. On Thursday 24th of May Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan went to Trondheim where he gave a lecture at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). Varadhan also visited a math circus in the town centre where hundreds of children turned up to meet him. The Abel Prize, awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, carries a cash award of NOK 6,000,000, or close to 1 mill. USD. The Abel Prize is this year awarded for the fifth time. The first Abel Prize was awarded in 2003 to Jean-Pierre Serre, Collège de France. In 2004 the Abel Prize was shared between Sir Michael Atiyah, University of Edinburgh and Isadore Singer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Peter D. Lax, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, was the 2005 Abel Laureate. Lennart Carleson, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden was awarded the Abel Prize in 2006.

Yakov G. Sinai gives lecture at "Abel in Pittsburgh"

The Department of Mathematical Sciences at Carnegie Mellon University is hosting the "Abel in Pittsburgh" conference where Yakov G. Sinai who received the Abel Prize in 2014 is one of the speakers. The conference is organized by professor and member of the Abel commitee Irene Fonseca and will take place on the 11th of January 2019. "Abel in Pittsburgh" will be the 9th edition of a one-day conference with lectures aimed at a mathematically educated and interested audience, with the objective of increasing public awareness.

(05.11.2018) More

The Abel Symposium 2019

Abel Symposium 2019 will take place at Scandic Parken Hotel Ålesund, 23-29 June 2019. The title of the symposium is: Geometry, Lie Theory and Applications.

(02.11.2018) More

Who will be the next Abel Laureate?

The Abel Committee has embarked on the long journey in search of the next Abel Laureate. The committee which consists of five distinguished mathematicians has had its first meeting at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo the 2nd and 3rd of October. The next meeting will take place in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania early next year.

(03.10.2018) More

Record turnout for Atiyah’s Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio

1250 mathematicians from all over the world filled the big conference hall in Rio de Janeiro on Monday the 6th of August to listen to Sir Michael Atiyah’s  Abel Lecture, “The Future of Mathematical Physics: New ideas in old bottles”.

(08.08.2018) More

Sir Michael Atiyah gives Abel lecture at ICM in Rio

Sir Michael Atiyah who receiced the Abel Prize in 2004, shared with Isadore Singer, will give the Abel Lecture at ICM in Rio on the 6th of August. He has titled the lecture: "The Future of Mathematical Physics: new ideas in old bottles". Atiyah will be introduced by Jacob Palis, former president of the International Mathematical Union and a member of the Abel Committee.

(26.07.2018) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS