HM Queen Sonja presents the Abel Prize

The Swedish mathematician Lennart Carleson received the 2006 Abel Prize from Queen Sonja at an award ceremony in the University Aula in Oslo 23 May. The Norwegian Minister of Education and Research Øystein Djupedal also attended the event.
Mathematics is often called the queen of science. To receive the Abel Prize from the queen of Norway is a great honour, Lennart Carleson said in his speech. The Abel Prize, awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, carries a cash award of NOK 6,000,000 (USD 920,000, GBP 520,000, and EURO 755,000). Carleson receives the Abel Prize “for his profound and seminal contributions to harmonic analysis and the theory of smooth dynamical systems”, says Erling Størmer, the chairman of the international Abel Committee. Størmer describes Carlson as an innovative problem solver. The Abel Committee says in its citation: “Carleson is always far ahead of the crowd. He concentrates on only the most difficult and deep problems. Once these are solved, he lets others invade the kingdom he has discovered, and he moves on to even wilder and more remote domains of Science.” Lennart Carleson was honoured for a full three days in Oslo 22 – 24 May. He was the guest of honour at the Oslo Cathedral School, the school the math genius Niels Henrik Abel once attended. Here Carleson presented the Bernt Michael Holmboe’s memorial prize to a math teacher who has made a special impact. The prize is named after the teacher who discovered Abel’s unique abilities. Carleson has himself played an important role in increasing the popularity of maths in Sweden, and he has always shown a keen interest for mathematics in schools. Later the same day Lennart Carleson put down a wreath at the Abel monument in the park of the royal palace. In the evening the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters hosted a dinner in honour of the Abel Laureate. Before the award ceremony on 23 May Lennart Carleson was be received in audience by HM Queen Sonja and HRH Crown Prince Haakon at the Royal Palace. The Norwegian government hosted a banquet in honour of the Abel Laureate Lennart Carleson at Akershus Castle. Øystein Djupedal, Minister of Education and Research, was the host for this event that completed the day’s program. Lennart Carleson gave his Abel Lecture at the University of Oslo the day after the award ceremony. "A Scandinavian Chapter in Analysis", is the title of his lecture. Carleson was followed by three other prominent mathematicians: Lai-Sang Young, Courant Institute of Mathematical Science, NYU, Oded Schramm, Microsoft Research and Sun-Yung Alice Chang, Princeton University. The Abel celebrations was completed with the Abel Party at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in the evening on the 24th of May. The Abel Prize is this year awarded for the forth time. The first Abel Prize was awarded in 2003 to Jean-Pierre Serre, Collège de France. In 2004 the Abel Prize was shared between Sir Michael Atiyah, University of Edinburgh and Isadore Singer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Peter D. Lax, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, was the 2006 Abel Laureate.


Program for the Abel events

Program for the Abel events

Video of the award ceremony

Video of the award ceremony

Abel in Oxford" with lecture by Sir Andrew Wiles

It has become a tradition that the Abel Committee after its final meeting hosts an Abel seminar. This year the committee meeting at London Mathematical Society was followed by "Abel in Oxford" with Abel Laureate Andrew Wiles as the main speaker. Martin Bridson, head of the Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford and Camilla Serck-Hanssen, Vice President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters gave introductory talks.

(02.02.2018) More

Yves Meyer received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald

H.M. King Harald presented the Abel Prize to Yves Meyer of the École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, France at an award ceremony in Oslo on 23 May. He receives the prize for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets, says John Rognes, chair of the Abel committee. Among the prominent guests attending the award  ceremony was the French ambassador to Norway, Jean-François Dobelle and the Norwegian Minister of Education and Research, Torbjørn Røe Isaksen.

(26.05.2017) More

Three days of celebration for Abel Laureate Yves Meyer

His Majesty King Harald will present the Abel Prize to Yves Meyer at an award ceremony in Oslo on 23 May. He receives the prize "for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets", to quote the Abel committee. Yves Meyer, of the École  normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, was the visionary leader in the modern development of this theory, at the intersection of mathematics, information technology and computational science.

(12.05.2017) More

The Abel lectures 2017

Abel Laureate Yves Meyer gave his prize lecture at the University of Oslo on the 24th of May, with following Abel lectures by Stéphane Mallat, Ingrid Daubechies og Emmanuel Jean Candès. Watch the lectures here.

(08.05.2017) More

Congratulations from AMS President

"On behalf of the American Mathematical Society, it is my great pleasure to congratulate Professor Yves Meyer, recipient of the 2017 Abel Prize.  Professor Meyer has been a visionary in a broad range of fields, including number theory and differential equations.  His fundamental work in the theory of wavelets has transformed the world of signal processing and has led to a myriad of practical applications."  -- AMS President Kenneth A. Ribet (University of California, Berkeley)
Photo: Jim Brook


(02.04.2017) More
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS