The Abel Year 2007

The Abel Prize Laureate 2007

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2007 to

Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan

Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York

"for his fundamental contributions to probability theory and in particular for creating a unified theory of large deviations."

Abel Prize award ceremony
Srinivasa S.R. Varadhan. Photo: Terje Bendiksby/ScanpixSrinivasa S.R. Varadhan. Photo: Terje Bendiksby/Scanpix

The Norwegian King and Queen, the Prime Minister and the Minister of Education and Research all took part in the celebration of the Abel Laureate Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan. His Majesty King Harald presented the Abel Prize for 2007 to Varadhan at an award ceremony in the University Aula in Oslo 22 May.

Read more

Tv-Interview with Srinivasa Varadhan

Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan is interviewed by the two mathematicians  Christian Skau and Martin Raussen:


Video: Watch the interview

The Abel Lectures


Watch the lectures


The Abel lectures was held at the University of Oslo

Srinivasa Varadhan: A Short History of Large Deviations

George Papanicolaou: Stochastic Analysis in Finance"

Ofer Zeitouni: Large Deviations at Work

Terry Lyons: Modelling Diffusive Systems


Varadhan's visit to Trondheim


Thursday 24 May Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan travelled to Trondheim where he gave a lecture at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). Varadhan also visited a math circus in the town centre where hundreds of children turned up to meet him.

Read more

The Abel Prize announcement

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Professor Jan Fridthjof Bernt, announced the winner of the Abel Prize 2007, 22. March.

Read more

Jorge Lauret wins the Ramanujan Prize
Ramanujanprisen 2007

Jorge Lauret (38) of the Universidad Nacional de Córdoba in Argentina is the winner of the 2007 Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize. Jorge Lauret received the prize at an award ceremony 3 December 2007 at the International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste, Italy. ICTP Director Katepalli R. Sreenivasan presented the prize to Jorge Lauret. 

Read more


Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Telefaks: +47 22 12 10 99
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Fax: + 47 22 12 10 99
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS